To provide you with the best experience, cookies are used on this site. Find out more here.

Allow cookies

Other Websites

Sign up - Contact

Nyhetsbrev - Kontakt

Kviteseid Local History Museum

Kviteseid bygdetun/rural museum was established in 1907, next to Kviteseid Old Church.
Several of the houses have been moved here from big farms and are the most photographed in Western Telemark. Talleiv “Målar” Espteveit decorated Flekstveitstoga from Lårdal, in 1790. Tveitloftet and Flekstveitloftet have beautiful carvings from 1790.


A display hall has sculptures made by sculptor Gunnar K. Utsond (1864-1950). Utsond is one of the famous Norwegian symbolists and the creator of Helhest at Ekeberg, Oslo. Utsond’s dramatic and tragical history is told through the exhibition.


There is food for purchase and guided tours from June to August.

Kviteseid Old Church

Most churches built in the Middle Ages were stave churches, unlike in more cen-tral places where they were built in rock. Kviteseid Old Church is one of these main churches, from 1260. In this time, there was a trade post (Kauphamar) by the water with whetstone, iron and leather. There are several of these stone churches along the Telemark Canal.


The church has many interesting details, such as an arch in entrances with two dragons twisting around each other, and decorations around the altar by Thomas Blix in 1714. The altarpiece is from 1732, while the font has a medieval style and is probably made in the 1500s.

Search Accommodation

Type:
Location:

Search Things to Do

Type:
Location:
Name / Keyword:

Search What's On

Name / Keyword:
Dates

Search Eating & Drinking

Name / Keyword:

Vest-Telemark Museum

-

Eidsborg

-

3880 Dalen

-

(+47) 35 06 90 90

-

post@vtm.no