To provide you with the best experience, cookies are used on this site. Find out more here.

Allow cookies

Other Websites

Sign up - Contact

Nyhetsbrev - Kontakt

Aamdals Verk Mines

Guided tour of copper mines that were operational for 254 years

Museum with unique models and a geology exhibit.

In the 1500s, German miners came to Gullnes in Seljord and to Moiseberg in Fyresdal ton start mining in Norway. At Åmdals Verk, not far from Moiseberg, the extraction of copper started in 1691, and lasted until 1945. There is a museum with a reconstruction of an old sorting house with mechanical models show show different parts of the mining process.

There is a rich exhibit of minerals shows some of the geology in the area.A guided tour of the mines start at the museum and goes several hundred meters down into the Hoffnung Mine. Outside the museum, there are walking paths to the remains of an entire mining community – that made the foundation for today’s establishment at Åmdals Verk.

The museum is open from June to August.

Search Accommodation

Type:
Location:

Search Things to Do

Type:
Location:
Name / Keyword:

Search What's On

Name / Keyword:
Dates

Search Eating & Drinking

Name / Keyword:

Vest-Telemark Museum

-

Eidsborg

-

3880 Dalen

-

(+47) 35 06 90 90

-

post@vtm.no